EggHunt Records

Minor Poet And How! EHR-024

Minor Poet is the brainchild of Richmond, VA’s Andrew Carter, who holed up in his basement for two months and played every instrument on Minor Poet’s debut album And How!. Inspired by the harmonies and sounds of classic 60’s groups the Beach Boys and the Zombies, as well as the lo-fi auteurism of the Magnetic Fields and Yo La Tengo, the eleven-song collection feels neither modern nor nostalgic, but rather exists in its own world, birthed from Carter’s mind. The lyrics weave in and out of pondering existential crises and fixating on everyday mundanities, referencing Samuel Beckett, Jacques Lacan, Neil Young, Sudoku, and everything in between, ultimately shrugging at the silliness of taking it all too seriously. A stellar cast of Richmond musicians bring the songs to life, including Noma Illmensee (Manatree), Jeremy Morris (the Mad Extras) and Micah Head.

track list
1. Plot Devices 03:21
2. River Days 03:06
3. Judith Beheading Holofernes 03:13
4. Citronella Bonfire 01:54
5. Sudoku, and Enlightenment 03:33
6. Last To Know/Meadow Park 04:44
7. Illusion of Balance 03:46
8. Shrimpie and the Iceman 01:27
9. Vertigo 02:12
10. Unfamiliar Hymn 03:23
11. Lillian, Falling Apart 03:07

Pressing Info

#350 black 12" vinyl
includes insert & download card

More in Vinyl View All